Home » What we do » Beneficiaries » Burkina Faso

Burkina Faso

Boucle du Mouhoun region on the Burkina Faso mapBurkina Faso (country of the righteous people), previously known as the Republic of Upper Volta, borders Ghana, Mali, Niger, Benin, Togo and Ivory Coast. It covers an area of 274,200 square kilometers, roughly a quarter of the size of the province of Ontario, and has a population of 17,275,115 (2012). The climate is tropical: warm and humid in the summer while dry in the winter. The country goes through periods of extreme drought which greatly affect the harvests and the population distribution. Burkina Faso is divided into 13 administrative regions, which are subdivided into 45 provinces. The SEMAFO mining site is situated in the Boucle du Mouhoun region.


Boucle du Mouhoun region

The capital of the Boucle du Mouhoun region is Dédougou . Mouhoun and Balé provinces in the Boucle du Mouhoun regionThe region has a population of 1,353,607 (2002) and covers a total area of 34,153 square kilometers. The Mana mining site spans the Mouhoun and Balé provinces. 

According to an analysis by the United Nations Development Program (UNDP), the Boucle du Mouhoun region is the poorest district in Burkina Faso (2005). This region is the country’s main cotton producer with 87% of the inhabitants living in the rural areas and agriculture serving as their principal source of income.

The average dwelling houses 7.8 people which ranks as the highest in the country. And although this region receives the most rain in the country, 46,7 % (2012) of the population does not have access to clean drinking water. The literacy in the area is another point of concern, with a rate of 15.6%, below the national rate of 21.8%.

Here are a few other social indicators that demonstrate the precariousness of the Boucle du Mouhoun region:

  • 64.5% of families live in mud housing (2005)
  • 31.9% of families must travel more than 60 minutes in order to get to the nearest health center (2005)
  • 56.5% of agricultural equipment used by farmers is archaic or inefficient (2005)
  • 80.8% of the population is uneducated (2005)
  • 3.8% of the population has access to electricity (2009)
  • 56 % of families are under poverty line (2009)


The Mouhoun provinceKona, Safané and Tchériba departments in the Mouhoun province

The Mouhoun province has a population of 235,291 and it covers an area of 6,668 square kilometers. Within this province, the SEMAFO Foundation provides assistance to the towns and villages situated around the mining site in the Kona, Safané and Tchériba departments.


Bagassi, Bana and Yaho departments in the Balé provinceThe Balé province

The Balé province has a population of 213,897 (2006), an area of 4,595 square kilometers and its capital is the town of Boromo. Within this province we offer aid to the departments of Bagassi, Bana and Yaho.




Villages targeted by the Foundation in Burkina Faso (2006)
Province Department Villages Men Women Total
Balé Bagassi Mana n/a n/a n/a
Bana Bana 1,493 1,664 3,157
Bissa 224 216 440
Fofina n/a n/a n/a
Sienkoro 246 199 445
Somona 336 359 695
Wona 1,629 1,616 3,245
Yona 1,106 1,148 2,254
Yaho Fobiri (1996) 618 666 1,284
Mouhoun Kona Blé 504 482 986
Dangouna 861 849 1,710
Kona 1,943 1,725 3,668
Zina 211 183 394
    TOTAL 9,171 9,107 18,278