HYGIENE AND FERTILIZATION PROJECT

Burkina Faso: in activity

 

The hygiene and fertilization section is a multisectoral sustainable development project, as it takes into account the aspects of sanitation, environment, productivity and social cohesion. Inspired by the successful experience of the KOASSANGA Association in the locality of Barkouytenga, this project was carried out for the displaced households of the Boungou mine in the Eastern region.

The low-cost ECOSAN ecological latrines can treat excrement separately, in a simple and natural way, to produce compost for use in agriculture to improve soil quality. Thanks to this process, the SEMAFO Foundation wishes to increase the productivity of the fields and thereby increase the income of the various owners, without the purchase of expensive fertilizers. The goal is to achieve food self-sufficiency for households by significantly increasing agricultural production. The use of by-products in agriculture makes it possible to practice an ecological agriculture with high efficiency respectful of the environment. For information, agricultural tests carried out for 6 years with the support of the Ministry of Agriculture have shown that the use of urine and faeces allows to obtain agricultural yields higher than those achieved with chemical fertilizers ( NPK and urea).

This project, initiated for the benefit of households impacted by mining activities in the Eastern Region, has made it possible to build 169 ECOSAN latrines for these households. A training and awareness campaign, in collaboration with the KOASSANGA association, was conducted for them to understand the merits of such a project as well as the practical modalities of use.

Subsequently, various training courses will be offered to beneficiaries to enable them to produce enough grain to feed themselves, but also to market some of them, thus enabling them to earn additional income while protecting the environment, without buying expensive fertilizers:

  • Training of animators in ecological agriculture
  • Training in the production of natural repellents to fight, without pesticides, against pests in the fields
  • Training in the fight against soil desertification: learning to combine the use of latrine by-products with cultural techniques for soil preservation and rehabilitation

This type of dry ecological latrine, works without water, separates feces from urine thus making it possible to recover waste by transforming it into compost (excreta) or liquid fertilizer (urine) that can be used for fertilization of soils or cultures.

En bref


  • Different training for beneficiaries to improve their income and increase the yield of their land (2016-2017)
  • Construction of 4 storage sheds for urine preservation (2016-2017)
  • Installation of 169 ECOSAN latrines for the relocation of Boungou households (2016-2017)
  • Training of the 8 managers of the hygiene centers (2016-2017)
  • An awareness campaign under the theme “Training beneficiaries on the use and maintenance of latrines ECOSAN” was held for the benefit of the populations of Boungou, Natongou and Tamboangou (2016-2017)

This post is also available in: French

title that shows in the donate lightbox
description that shows in the donate lightbox
Change this in Theme Options
Change this in Theme Options

PROJET HYGIÈNE ET FERTILISATION

Burkina Faso : en activité

 

La section hygiène et fertilisation est un projet de développement durable multisectoriel, car il prend en compte les aspects d’assainissement, d’environnement, de productivité et de cohésion sociale. Inspiré de l’expérience réussie par l’Association KOASSANGA dans la localité de Barkouytenga, ce projet a été réalisé au profit des ménages déplacés de la mine de Boungou dans la région de l’Est.

Les latrines écologiques ECOSAN à faibles coûts permettent en traitant les excréments séparément, de façon simple et naturelle, de produire du compost qui sera utilisé pour l’agriculture afin de bonifier la qualité du sol. Grâce à ce procédé, la Fondation SEMAFO désire accroître la productivité des champs et par le fait même augmenter les revenus des différents propriétaires, et ce, sans l’achat d’engrais onéreux. L’objectif est d’atteindre l’autosuffisance alimentaire pour les ménages en augmentant sensiblement la production agricole. L’utilisation des sous-produits en agriculture permet de pratiquer une agriculture écologique à fort rendement respectueuse de l’environnement. Pour information, les tests en agriculture réalisés depuis 6 ans avec l’appui du ministère de l’Agriculture ont permis de démontrer que l’utilisation des urines et des fèces permet d’obtenir des rendements agricoles supérieurs à ceux réalisés avec les engrais chimiques (NPK et urée).

Ce projet, initié au profit des ménages impactés par les activités minières de la région de l’Est, a permis de réaliser 169 latrines ECOSAN pour ces ménages. Une campagne de formation et de sensibilisation, de concert avec l’association KOASSANGA, a été réalisée à leur endroit afin qu’ils comprennent le bien fondé d’un tel projet ainsi que les modalités pratiques d’utilisation.

Par la suite différentes formations seront offertes aux bénéficiaires pour leur permettre de produire suffisamment de céréales pour se nourrir, mais aussi d’en commercialiser une partie leur permettant ainsi d’avoir des revenus complémentaires tout en protégeant l’environnement et ce, sans l’achat d’engrais onéreux :

  • Formation d’animateurs en agriculture écologique
  • Formation à la production de répulsifs naturels permettant de lutter, sans pesticides, contre les attaques de ravageurs dans les champs
  • Formation à la lutte contre la désertification des sols: apprendre à combiner l’utilisation des sous-produits des latrines et les techniques culturales de préservation et de réhabilitation des sols

Ce type de latrines sèches écologique, fonctionne sans eau, sépare les fèces des urines
permettant ainsi de valoriser les déchets en les transformant en compost (excreta) ou en fertilisant liquide (urines) utilisables pour la fertilisation des sols ou des cultures.

En bref


  • Différentes formations pour les bénéficiaires afin d’améliorer leur revenu et d’augmenter le rendement de leur terre (2016-2017)
  • Construction de 4 hangars d’entreposage pour la conservation des urines (2016-2017)
  • Installation de 169 latrines ECOSAN pour la relocalisation des ménages de Boungou (2016-2017)
  • Formation des 8 gestionnaires des centres d’hygiénisation (2016-2017)
  • Une campagne de sensibilisation sous le thème « Formation des bénéficiaires sur l’utilisation et l’entretien des latrines ECOSAN » a eu lieu au profit des populations de Boungou, de Natongou et de Tamboangou (2016-2017)

This post is also available in: Anglais

title that shows in the donate lightbox
Zone d’intervention : Burkina Faso
$ CAD
Change this in Theme Options
Change this in Theme Options